A little more than paint

At first it looks a bit like paint, but under closer inspection it becomes clear you are way out of your depth. What the hell do all those icons mean? Rasterise? Sounds like a herbal remedy…

My first time in Photoshop went a little bit like the above. And I think at first Adobe Photoshop can be a little overwhelming to anyone. But if you are going to be a web designer, it will be a huge leg up if you can wield Photoshop effectively. Also, if you develop a knack for it, you can potentially earn some cash from sites such as 99designs.com (a kind of crowd sourcing site for logos and designs, which is booming right now).

Where to start

I am by no means a Photoshop expert, but I have learnt the basics online using a handful of (free!) online tutorials.

For absolute beginners (like I was myself) I recommend just surfing Youtube for the basic tutorials that are there. I started off with a tutorial that taught you to write your name. The result was quite garish but it served very well in showing me the ropes.

The-Willdog

Above: My first Photoshop creation. Below: A design I submitted to 99designs.com (I sadly didn’t win).

jpsunika

You can watch the same video here:

If you know the basics but are looking to hone your skills, I would recommend using some of the following sites:

  1. http://psd.tutsplus.com/tutorials/designing-tutorials/9-essential-principles-for-good-web-design/
  2. http://sixrevisions.com/photoshop/21-advanced-photoshop-tips-tricks-and-tutorials-roundup/
  3. http://justcreative.com/2008/06/26/adobe-photoshop-tips-tricks/
  4. http://slodive.com/photoshop/free-photoshop-tutorials/
  5. http://www.photoshopstar.com/

There are hundreds if not thousands of tutorials online, and I will post about more of these in the future. Please do add any sites you have found useful in the comments section below.

I hope sme of these resources help you as they did me, please feel free to share any of your creations to @godesignblog or in the comments below.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

